BROMSGROVE DISTRICT COUNCIL

MEETING OF THE OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY BOARD

WEDNESDAY, 12TH OCTOBER 2011 AT 5.00 P.M.

PRESENT: Councillors P. J. Whittaker (Chairman), P. Lammas (Vice-Chairman), C. J. Bloore, J. S. Brogan, Mrs. R. L. Dent, K. A. Grant-Pearce, Mrs. J. M. L. A. Griffiths, R. J. Laight, S. P. Shannon, Mrs. C. J. Spencer and L. J. Turner

Observers: Councillor R. J. Deeming and Councillor M. A. Bullivant

Officers: Ms. J. Pickering, Mrs. C. Felton and Ms. A. Scarce

47/11 **APOLOGIES**

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Dr. B. T. Cooper and P. M. McDonald.

48/11 **DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST AND WHIPPING ARRANGEMENTS**

There were no declarations of interest or whipping arrangements.

49/11 MEMBERSHIP OF THE PLANNING POLICY TASK GROUP

The Chairman informed the Board that 13 Members had shown an interested in joining the Planning Policy Task Group. The Board discussed the size and composition of the Task Group, taking into account the guidelines which had been agreed by the Board. During this discussion the Chairman agreed that the meeting be adjourned to allow the Members time to consider the nominations.

Accordingly, the meeting stood adjourned from 5.06 p.m. to 5.11 p.m.

Having re-convened it was

RESOLVED:

- (a) that the Planning Policy Task Group would comprise of 7 Members, and be politically balanced (5 Conservative and 2 Labour Members); and
- (b) that Councillors C. J. Bloore, S. R. Colella, Mrs. R. L. Dent, S. J. Dudley, Mrs. J. M. L. A. Griffiths, P. M. McDonald and Mrs. C. J. Spencer be appointed Members of the Planning Policy Task Group.

50/11 CHAIRMAN OF THE PLANNING POLICY TASK GROUP

The Chairman invited nominations for Chairman of the Planning Policy Task Group.

<u>RESOLVED</u> that Councillor S. R. Colella be appointed Chairman of the Planning Policy Task Group.

Councillor C. J. Bloore informed the Chairman that the Labour Group would withdraw from the Task Group as it could not support it being chaired by a member of the leading political group and would therefore carry out its own investigation. After further discussion it was

<u>RESOLVED</u> that due to the circumstances detailed above, Councillor L. J. Turner be invited to join the Planning Policy Task Group and therefore as a consequence the revised membership of the Task Group is as follows, Councillors S. R. Colella, Mrs. R. L. Dent, S. J. Dudley, Mrs. J. M. L. A. Griffiths, Mrs. C. J. Spencer and L. J. Turner.

51/11 ANY OTHER BUSINESS

The Board discussed issuing a press release as soon as possible to ensure that residents were made aware that the Planning Policy Task Group had been set up and that the investigation would commence as quickly as possible. Officers confirmed that they would contact the Chairman of the Task Group to arrange suitable meeting dates for the Task Group at the earliest opportunity.

The Board asked for it to be noted that it was disappointed at the Labour Group's withdrawal from the Task Group and stressed that it would ensure that the Task Group would scrutinise the issues raised both fairly and justly, which was the case with any Task Group set up by the Board.

The meeting closed at 5.18 p.m.

<u>Chairman</u>